Am I Blogging Now?

A blog about writing, reading, art, and history

Coloring Book

For my godson, Paul, for his birthday, I drew, inked, scanned and printed a series of twelve Medieval, fantasy-ish pictures for him to color. Paul and his big sister are really in to Greek Mythology right now, which is cool, so I made sure to include a few mythical creatures. My choice of pics was pretty random, consisting of pretty much whatever I could find that looked interesting to draw. I posted these to Facebook shortly after, and I think now is as good a time as any to add them to my blog. They should be full resolution, so feel free to print and color them yourselves.

In the order in which I drew them:

Babe with battleaxe

Every princess needs a battleaxe, right? This first picture I based on an image I found by an artist identified only as Heegur.

On the hunt

I based this drawing on a painting by historical artist, Angus McBride. The image was of a Pict on horseback, and I turned him into a centaur.

Step back, nonbeliever

Another Angus McBride image. This one of a Teutonic Knight. I get the distinct impression he’s about to mess somebody up.

If you run, you'll just die tired

I based this knight off of an image I found of the Knight Exemplar from Wizards of the Coast’s Magic: the Gathering. I’m kind of a sucker for tough women in practical armor.

Across the courtyard, through the portcullis, past the smithy, nothin' but face

Some kind of an archer/sniper. I don’t remember where I got the pose from, but the outfit is based loosely on the character Maxim from Girl Genius.

Original ship-of-the-line

Sailing the wine-dark sea. This one is a Hellenic-era trireme war galley. The Greeks knew how to build kick-ass boats. Of the set, the trireme was easily the most challenging.

Not a bird, nor a plane...

The Tempest Drake from Magic: the Gathering. After drawing that boat, I needed something simple to work on.

This is Paul, my godson. I took one of the pictures his mom gave me and drew him wearing half-plate. The armor is based on the Seven-Fathers set from Lord of the Rings Online.

Another Drake

Another Magic: the Gathering image. This one is based on the Azimat Drake.

Roman Legionaries cresting a hill. Trajan’s armies are on the march; run for the hills Dacian dogs! This one’s a compilation of images from screenshots from Rome: Total War.

Cue the lame “This is SPARTA!” references. Actually, this hoplite is from Corinth. Also based on a screenshot from Rome: Total War.

A wizardy sorceress. I got down to the end and realized I didn’t have a wizard of any kind. I decided to revisit an image I drew of Gwynn of Sluggy Freelance as the Black Mage from Final Fantasy.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Coloring Book

  1. “Hey! Maxim!” was my first thought for the archer.

    As for the last pic, I was thinking, “Hey! Orko!” But it’s Gwynn.

Leave a Reply

